ISRO Wins The Leif Erikson Lunar Prize for Chandrayaan-3


Making India proud, ISRO has been awarded the Leif Erikson Lunar Prize for Chandrayaan-3’s trailblazing soft-landing close to the lunar south pole.

On 23 August 2023, India grew to become the fourth nation to attain a profitable lunar touchdown becoming a member of the ranks of the USA, China and Russia. It additionally made historical past as the primary nation to the touch down the Moon’s South Pole — an unexplored area that scientists consider may maintain important reserves of frozen water and treasured components. 

Because the 23 August landing, Chandrayaan-3’s exploration of the lunar floor yielded quite a few essential discoveries. One among these was the presence of sulphur. The Laser-Induced Breakdown Spectroscope (LIBS) instrument aboard the Pragyan rover confirmed this. This occasion additionally marked the primary of its variety in-situ measurement of the lunar south pole’s elemental composition. This discovering is important because it raises questions on whether or not the aspect is intrinsic to the lunar floor or a results of meteoritic impression. 

Chandrayaan-3 touched down on the lunar south pole on 23 August 2023
Chandrayaan-3 touched down on the lunar south pole on 23 August 2023, Image supply: The Higher India

After weeks of exploration, the Vikram Lander and Pragyan Rover had been put into sleep mode by ISRO on September 4 and a couple of respectively, and had been to be reactivated on 23 September. Nonetheless, efforts to revive the lunar duo failed. 

Nonetheless, ISRO’s efforts didn’t go unnoticed. The house company was bestowed with the celebrated Leif Erikson Lunar Prize by Husavik Museum for its “indomitable spirit in advancing lunar exploration and contributing to understanding celestial mysteries”. The embassy’s publish added, “ISRO Chairman Mr S Somanath despatched a message; Amb Mr Shyam acquired the prize on ISRO’s behalf”. 

Exterior Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar additionally took to X (previously referred to as Twitter) to precise his admiration for ISRO’s accomplishment. “Congratulations ISRO for the 2023 Leif Erikson Lunar Prize. Chandrayaan provides extra laurels to the nation.”

The award ceremony takes place yearly in Húsavík and falls into three classes. These embrace the Leif Erikson Award to an explorer for a lifetime achievement in exploration; the Leif Erikson Younger Explorer Award to an explorer beneath the age of 35 for achievements in exploration; and the Leif Erikson Exploration Historical past Award. 

Not too long ago, the information of the Propulsion Module (PM) of Chandrayaan-3 transitioning from lunar orbit to Earth’s orbit made headlines. 

Within the months following Chandrayaan-3’s historic feat, ISRO additionally launched Aditya-L1 on 2 September to check the photo voltaic environment. The spacecraft has efficiently undergone a number of maneuvers, together with 4 earth-bound manoeuvres and an important Trans-Lagrangean Level 1 Insertion (TL1I) manoeuvre. 

Edited by Padmashree Pande.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *